10/16-10/18

Hey Kiddo – I’m catching up on writing this to your blog.

*On Tuesday, October 15th, you memorized the song about chocolate cake, so we got to bake a chocolate cake together! You did all the measuring and mixing! You followed the instructions and we had a wonderful treat! You worked hard on that song. I am really proud of you for sticking with it and getting the timing just right!

On Wednesday, October 16th, we worked together to finish up your Alpha Omega Unit 2 packet in Math. We did pages 23, 24, 31, & 34 together. You also did pages 4 and 5, the Self Test on page 6, pages 7 and page 10. I let you stop halfway through page 10. You did a great job! We learned about estimating and actual measurements. We had a great time experimenting! I think your little brother enjoyed it, too!

We started an art project about your body, tracing your body and coloring it in. The weather was rainy, so we did a lot of coloring and also played with play-doh. In your journal, you drew a picture of the solar system. We have been talking about and watching videos about space lately. It’s fascinating stuff to you and I love how many questions you have!

You had Royal Rangers on Wednesday where you talked about money and how you are provided for by your parents and by God. Your new Royal Rangers handbook should be here within 2 weeks. I also ordered you a new t-shirt and a Royal Rangers hat.

On Thursday, October 17th, we started the day with a nature walk in the beautiful fall weather! We picked up lots of leaves, flowers, and even a weed or two. You and your brother had such a great time exploring! We saw not just one, but two HAWKS! They flew over us the entire time and even swooped down low enough that we could really see them up close! What a neat experience that was!

Then, you finished up Unit 2 in Math by completing the Lifepac Test over the unit. You answered every problem correctly! Way to go!

You read 3 chapters in The Tale of Jolly Robin and I read some with you after that. We discovered that The White Giant was actually a snowman! I wanted you to journal about it, but we never did get to that. ;/  That’s ok, though… Very good reading!

I took you to Basel’s and signed you up for a gymnastics class on Mondays at 4:15. You are going to learn the basics of gymnastics at the best school in the area! I’m thrilled that you get to do this, because I know how much you have wanted it!

You had your fifth piano lesson with Ms. Sandy. She is very proud of the work you are doing! And I am very proud, too!

On Friday, October 18th, we reviewed all the pages in the Language Arts packet. You did your Spelling Review on page 70 and 71, then the Self Test on pages 72-73. We did a practice spelling test together on 66 and discovered that you needed a little more time with the words before the final test.  I made a Spelling notebook to send with you to your dad’s house, so you could practice with him over the weekend and take your test on Monday. We worked on the Unit Review on page 74-77.

You had free reading time for about 20 minutes. I think it’s so cool that you love to read.

At your request, we found a cool science experiment to do. We learned about how salt in water makes an egg float because it changes the density of the water!

I needed to make a special banana pudding for a party at Pastor Hogan’s house, and you helped me to make it! In fact, I think you did more of the work than I did! And it was YUMMY! You measured everything just right and mixed all the ingredients. You made the best banana pudding I’ve ever had! We got so many compliments. I was sure to tell everyone that YOU made it with me!

You played on the Melissa and Doug baseball field and taught Benny how to get a home run! We played with blocks and made castles and houses and backyards and monsters. You finished up coloring on your body project and added details like “Heart, Brain, Belly” all on your own! We also listened to music and danced, danced, danced… We played outside a little– You thought of the idea to make a sign for the birds to read, “Free Bird Seed” and immediately afterward, the ducks came into our yard to eat the seeds off the ground! It was so cute!

All in all, it was a busy and productive week. You make me very, very proud, as always.

10 16 055-001 050 049 052 054 059 099 046 079-001 2013-10-22 Oct 2013 10 18

Leave a comment